N. Ahtar, S. Hussain


Non linear electrostatic solitary wave structures are studied in negative ion magnetized homogenous plasma in the presence of stationary dust. Zakharov-Kuznetsov (ZK) equation is derived by using reductive perturbation method. Laboratory plasma parameters are used for the numerical analysis of ZK equation. It is seen that compressive and rarefactive solitary wave structures are observed for fast and slow modes. The effects of magnetic field, obliqueness, temperature variation of positive and negative ions in the presence of dust on non linear solitary wave structures are discussed.

Full Text:



H. Amemiya, B.M. Annaratone, and J.E.

Allen, Plasma Sources Sci. Tech. 8 (1999)

R.N. Franklin, Plasma Sources Sci. Tech. 11

(2002) A31.

M. Bacal and G.W. Hamilton, Phys. Rev.

Lett. 42 (1979) 1538.

R. Merlino and Kim Su-Hyun, Appl. Phys.

Lett. 89 (2006) 091501.

K.N. Shamshev, V.V. Sokolov and N.D.

Semkin, Adv. Space Res. 11 (1991) 89.

R.A. Gottscho and C.E. Gaebe, IEEE Trans.

Plasma Sci. 14 (1986) 92.

W. Xu, N. D'Angelo and R.M. Merlino, J.

Geophys. Res. 98 (1993) 7843.

A. Barkan, N. D'Angelo and R.L Merlino,

Phys. Rev. Lett. 73 (1994) 3093.

B. Walch, M. Horanyi and S. Robertson,

Phys. Rev. Lett. 75 (1995) 838.

H.K. Andersen, N. D'Angelo, P. Michelsen

and P. Nelsen, Phys. Rev. Lett. 19 (1967)

J. Jacquinot, B.D. McVey and J.E. Scharer,

Phys. Rev. Lett. 39 (1977) 88.

R. Ichiki, S. Yoshimura, T. Watanabe, Y.

Nakamura and Y. Kawai, Phys. Plasmas 9

(2002) 4481.

A. Fridman, Plasma Chemistry, Cambridge

University Press, UK (2008).

A.A. Mamun, P.K. Shukla and B. Eliasson,

Phys. Rev. E 80 (2009) 046406.

N.N. Rao, P.K. Shukla and M.Y. Yu, Planet.

Space Sci. 38 (1990) 543.

A. Barkan, N. D'Angelo and R.L. Merlino,

Planet. Space Sci. 44 (1996) 239.

A. Barkan and R.L. Merlino, Phys. Plasmas 2

(1995) 3261.

G.C. Das and Kh. Ibohanbi Singh, Aust. J.

Phys. 43 (1990) 319.

A.A. Mamun and P.K. Shukla, Phys. Plasmas

(2003) 1518.

N. D'Angelo, J. Phys. D 37 (2004) 860.

B.M. Annaratone and J.E. Allen, J. Phys. D


A.A. Mamun and P.K. Shukla, J. Plasma

Physics 77 (2011) 433.

R.L. Merlino, A. Barkan, C. Thompson and N.

D'Angelo, Phys. Plasmas 5 (1998) 1607.

W.F. El-Taibany, N.A. El-Bedwehy and E.F.

El-Shamy, Phys. Plasmas 18 (2011) 033703.

K.P. Das and F. Verheest, J. Plasma Phys.

(1989) 139.

S. Mahmood and N. Akhtar, Eur. Phys. J. D

(2008) 217.

I. Kourakis, W.M. Moslem, U.M. Abdelsalam,

R. Sabry and P.K. Shukla, Plasma and

Fusion Research 4 (2009) 18.

A. Mushtaq, R. Saeed and Q. Haque, Phys.

Plasmas 16 (2009) 084501.

S. Mahmood, N. Akhtar and H. Ur-Rehman

Physica Scripta 83 (2011) 035505.

A.S. Bains, M. Tribeche, N.S. Saini and T.S.

Gill, Phys. Plasmas 18 (2011) 104503.

B.C. Kalita and S.N. Barman, Astrophys.

Space Sci. 330 (2010) 311.

D. K. Singh and H. K. Malik, IEEE Trans. On

Plasma Science 36 (2008) 462.

F. Verheest, R. L. Mace, S.R. Pillay and

M. A. Hellberg, J. Phys. A: Math. Gen. 35

(2002) 795.

H. Washimi and T. Tanuiti, Phys. Rev. Lett.

(1966) 996.

S.A. Khan and W. Masood, Phys. Plasmas

(2008) 062301.

I. Kourakis, W. M. Moslem, U. M. Abdelsalam

R. Sabry and P.K. Shukla, Plasma and

Fusion Research 4 (2009) 018.

T. Takeuchi, S. Iizuka and N. Sato, Phys.

Rev. Lett. 80 (1998) 77.


  • There are currently no refbacks.